Category: 

What Are the Best Vegetarian DHA Sources?

Flax seeds contain a fatty acid similar to DHA, known as alpha-linolenic acid.
Walnuts are rich in alpha-linolenic acid.
Spinach contains a fatty acid similar to DHA.
It is important for pregnant women to eat foods rich in DHA.
Vegetarians can get their alpha-linolenic acid from kale.
DHA supplements are available as pills, capsules, or liquid drops.
Vegetarians commonly use algae to add DHA to their diets.
Article Details
  • Originally Written By: Erin J. Hill
  • Revised By: Wanda Marie Thibodeaux
  • Edited By: Bronwyn Harris
  • Last Modified Date: 26 September 2014
  • Copyright Protected:
    2003-2014
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article
Free Widgets for your Site/Blog
Coloring your hair in the ‘30s often came with swollen eyelids, blisters and headaches.  more...

October 21 ,  1879 :  Thomas Edison lit up a light bulb for the first time.  more...

There are a few main vegetarian DHA sources available on the market. Two of the most common are algae and fungus, which people usually ingest in supplement form. People also can get DHA from some vegetable oils. Nuts and some green vegetables such as Brussel sprouts are additional alternatives.

DHA Importance

DHA is an omega-3 fatty acid that is strongly linked to cell and brain function. It appears in the cell mitochondria, structures that produce energy. The fatty acid also allows signals to pass easily from one brain cell to another. Without DHA, brain function and overall health suffers. It is for this reason that vegetarians cannot exclude it from their diet.

Ad

Women who are pregnant or nursing need to be especially careful to get enough DHA in their diet. The fatty acid is critical to the brain development of the baby. It also is very important in the development of the baby's eyes.

Algae

The most common vegetarian DHA source is algae. Fish are rich in DHA largely because they eat these organisms. Many people eat algae "raw," meaning they consume it as a whole food, such as adding dried algae to a smoothie. Different types of algae are also available as supplements, either as pills, capsules or liquid drops.

Recently, the use of algae as a vegetarian DHA supplement has been called into question. The problem occurs when manufacturers process the algae using hexane extraction, combining it with certain acids or, in some cases, bleach. In the United States, companies often add algae processed in this way to infant formulas and, more recently, to animal products like milk and yogurt. Some children, especially young babies, have experienced some gastrointestinal upset, including diarrhea. This can be very serious for infants, so algae-based supplements should be used with caution.

Even when algae is processed safely, it is still considered an inferior DHA source compared to fish. The body has to tweak the DHA in algae slightly to get it into a form that it can use readily. The DHA in fish, by contrast, is already in a form that the body can accept.

Advocates of getting DHA from algae often suggest that it is free from contaminants such as mercury, making it a healthier way to get DHA than eating fish. This is not true. Contamination usually starts at the bottom of the food chain, meaning that algae are just as susceptible to becoming too toxic to ingest. People who want to eat algae raw or as supplements therefore have to be careful about where the algae was grown.

Fungi

Sometimes fungi can also be used as vegetarian DHA sources just like algae. They also come in pill form. A vegetarian can purchase fungi-based DHA supplements from health food stores or online retailers. A concern with these products, however, is that some individuals are allergic to certain fungi. Individuals who have mold allergies should avoid this option.

Foods Containing ALA

Alpha-linolenic acid, better known as ALA, is an omega-3 fatty acid similar to DHA. The main difference is that ALA is found in plants. It is associated with brain health and is also thought to benefit the heart and immune system. ALA is important for vegetarians seeking DHA because the body can convert ALA to DHA, although the process can be inefficient.

ALA appears in several fatty vegetable oils, including canola and soybean oils. Flax seed and flax seed oil, however, is the leading source of ALA. An easy way to incorporate it in the diet is to sprinkle some on salads.

Nuts are another ALA source. In particular, walnuts are rich in this omega-3 fatty acid. It's best to eat them raw, but they also can be eaten baked into or sprinkled on breads and muffins. Some people enjoy blending them into nut-based smoothies for an alternative to a fruity drink.

If vegetable oils and nuts don't appeal, a person can turn to some green vegetables to get their ALA. Spinach and kale are two nutrient-rich options. Brussel sprouts work, as well.

Considerations

As with any supplement, consumers who do not consume animal products are advised to seek the advice of a pharmacist, doctor, or registered dietitian before taking vegetarian DHA sources in supplement form. These professionals can ensure that proper fatty acids and other important nutrients are being consumed through a combination of foods, drinks and supplements. They also help clients get the supplements that are right for their unique physiology and circumstances.

Ad

More from Wisegeek

You might also Like

Discuss this Article

anon256396
Post 3

I've been a vegetarian for 39 years (!) and never took anything for it because I'd never heard about it, and was perfectly healthy. Started using flaxoil about five years ago. Now I am starting to take microalgae because I am concerned. It does seem to be a good idea.

truman12
Post 2

So what happens if you don't have enough DHA in your diet? I have been a vegetarian for about two years now and I don't eat a lot of the dha rich foods listed in the the article. I also don't take any supplements. So presumably I am not getting as much dha as I should. What effect, if any, is this having on my body?

gravois
Post 1

I have been a vegetarian for over a decade now and I am always careful to supplement my diet with a DHA booster. You have to be careful about getting it from a vegetarian source though. I know that some people are not that sensitive about the issue and don't remain strictly vegetarian, but I think if you are going to go for it you have to commit yourself fully.

I think the best vegetarian source of DHA is algae. I get one that is pretty reasonably priced at my local health food store. I would recommend to anyone that is planning on eating a vegetarian diet for any length of time to start taking a DHA supplement. Vegetarianism is great but you have to be healthy about it.

Post your comments

Post Anonymously

Login

username
password
forgot password?

Register

username
password
confirm
email