Category: 

What Is Gelatin?

One of gelatin's many uses is as an gelling agent.
Gelatin is used as coating for pills.
Yogurt can contain gelatin.
Article Details
  • Written By: S. N. Smith
  • Edited By: Bronwyn Harris
  • Last Modified Date: 24 March 2014
  • Copyright Protected:
    2003-2014
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article
Free Widgets for your Site/Blog
According to popular legend, Emperor Nero fiddled while Rome burned.   more...

April 18 ,  1775 :  Paul Revere went on his famous nighttime ride.  more...

Gelatin, or gelatine, is a substance derived from the processing of animal collagen. Commercially, this is most typically obtained from cattle hides and bones and pigskins. Contrary to popular belief, it is not rendered from the feet or horns of animals, which are made primarily of keratin rather than collagen.

In its most basic form, commercially processed edible gelatin is a tasteless beige or pale yellow powder or granules. It is composed of mostly protein, with a small percentage of mineral salts and water making up the balance. Gelatin contains 18 amino acids. Of the ten essential amino acids necessary for human health, it lacks only tryptophan.

Edible gelatin is extraordinarily versatile. Aside from the ubiquitous Jell-O® desserts popular both in institutional cafeterias and home kitchens around the world, it can be found in an amazing array of food products. In the processed food industry, it is used a thickener, a gelling agent, a stabilizer, and an emulsifier. As such, it can be found in foods as diverse as yogurt, pate, aspic, marshmallows and gummy candy, soups, salad dressings, and canned ham.

Edible gelatin is also widely used in the pharmaceutical industry. Because it is easily digested, it is favored as a coating for medicinal tablets and caplets. Medicine-containing capsules are also made from this substance.

Ad

Other, inedible uses include the production of film in the photographic industry. In the entertainment industry, it is used to produce the paint-containing capsules shot from paintball guns.

Extracting the collagen from the raw animal materials to produce gelatin commercially requires a process that involves stages of boiling and soaking in a strong acidic or basic solution to liberate, or hydrolyze, the protein. Once extracted, the protein is then dried. The gelatin may be formed into sheets, termed leaf gelatin, or ground into granules or powder. Its shelf life is a lengthy one, providing it is kept at a regulated temperature and is protected from humidity.

As it is refined from animal products, strict processing guidelines are observed to ensure the purity and quality of the finished product. Numerous tests examine the gelatin for the presence of pathogens, contaminants, and other impurities.

The home cook who desires to render gelatin for use in aspic or other culinary purposes may easily do so by simmering collagen-containing animal or fish bones, then straining and cooling the liquid. The gelatin will congeal upon refrigeration.

Gelatin, served in a broth or in a shimmering, jewel-toned mound studded with fruit chunks, offers some nutritional perks. Many believe it is beneficial for maintaining healthy bones and joints and attractive hair and nails. It has, for ages, been valued as a digestive aid and intestinal soother, hence the popularity of gravies and soups containing it served alongside rich fare.

As a food additive, however, this substance contributes little but texture to its host product. Very little, if any, nutritional benefit is gained when it is added to processed foods.

Ad

Discuss this Article

anon135448
Post 6

loki, it seems like it was an accident that must have happened millions of times by now. people have been boiling down animal parts for generations and generations. it seems that discovering gelatin could have almost been impossible to avoid.

anon84410
Post 5

No, vegans cannot have gelatin(e). it comes from animals.

anon70830
Post 4

In response to the anon question: yes, vegans and vegetarians who are serious about their dietary choices should be aware of what gelatin is, and check the ingredients of things they buy to make sure they avoid it.

anon65896
Post 3

So, does the fact that it comes from animal collagen mean that vegans an vegetarians should avoid eating gelatin?

lokithebeak
Post 1

Okay I am both a little grossed out and yet impressed at the same time.

I had no idea gelatin came from animal collagen. I also had no idea it was used so many different ways!

I wonder what made that inventor sit down and start boiling animal parts to see what he could do with the results?

Post your comments

Post Anonymously

Login

username
password
forgot password?

Register

username
password
confirm
email