Category: 

What Should I Serve a Hindu Guest Who Adheres to Dietary Restrictions?

Dishes with vegan ingredients, like tofu and vegetables, are safe choices for individuals following Hindu dietary restrictions.
Hindus sometimes avoid foods thought to excite the body, such as garlic.
For Hindus, the cow is a holy and sacred animal.
Eggs are usually permitted by Hindu individuals with religious dietary restrictions.
Article Details
  • Written By: Mary McMahon
  • Edited By: Bronwyn Harris
  • Last Modified Date: 11 October 2014
  • Copyright Protected:
    2003-2014
    Conjecture Corporation
  • Print this Article
Free Widgets for your Site/Blog
Shrek was the first movie to win an Oscar for best animated feature film.  more...

November 1 ,  1952 :  The US exploded the world's first hydrogen bomb.  more...

Hinduism is one of the largest religions in the world, encompassing almost one billion adherents who believe a variety of things. Depending on the sect that someone follows and the region that he or she is from, a Hindu may have an assortment of dietary restrictions that should be considered when cooking a meal. Because of the wide variance in beliefs, you should ask your guest, if possible, about forbidden or unsafe foods. If you cannot do this, you may want to consider serving a strict vegan meal, which will exclude most foods forbidden to most Hindus.

Many Hindus believe that the foods they eat contribute to their personal and spiritual purity. Because most sects of Hinduism involve a belief in a cycle of life which is impacted by individual actions, they place restrictions on harmful foods, meaning foods which are harvested in a way that might negatively impact the karma of the consumer. On certain occasions, a Hindu may observe a more strict diet, or choose to fast as part of a cleansing process. Because of the wide variance of traditions, most adherents welcome questions from people who are curious about their religion, especially when the questions are intended to make a guest more comfortable.

Ad

It's quite common for Hindus to be vegetarians, meaning that they not eat the flesh of animals, in accordance with ahimsa, the idea that a Hindu should avoid harm, violence, and suffering. Dairy products and eggs are usually permitted, except in some regions and on certain festival days. Certain food products can be deceptive; some cheeses, for example, are made with rennet, an animal product, and you should take care to purchase vegetarian cheese. Certain sects, such as the Jains, eat a strict vegan diet which contains no animal products. In addition, a Jainist refrains from eating certain fruits and vegetables at certain times of the year, out of concern that animals may be living on them.

If a Hindu guest informs you that he or she eats meat, you should most certainly avoid serving beef of any form. The cow is a holy and sacred animal, and should not be slaughtered, although drinking milk is acceptable. Some Hindus also avoid pork, and in some areas, animals like ducks and crabs are considered unclean, and should not be eaten. Do not be afraid to ask a guest to elaborate on which meats he or she can eat.

Many Hindus have specific beliefs about individual fruits and vegetables. Garlic, onions, and tomatoes, for example, are considered to be foods which excite the body, and some choose to avoid them. In many cases, red foods are also avoided, because the color is reminiscent of blood.

Ad

More from Wisegeek

You might also Like

Discuss this Article

burcidi
Post 3

I think it's best to ask the guest. Especially if you have a whole family coming over, wife, mother or mother-in-law, etc. Women tend to keep fast on certain days, but you can only know if you ask them specifically.

In general it's always good to ask guests about their diet. Not just Hindus, but Jews have to eat kosher and Muslims don't eat pork. Also some people do not eat certain foods just because they don't like it. I always ask them what they don't eat to make sure.

burcinc
Post 2

I have met and eaten with many Hindus. It's true that each Hindu family follows different dietary habits and customs although all are Hindu.

I have friends who eat everything but beef, others who don't have any meat but have eggs, others who don't eat meat or eggs. Also, some Hindu families who live in the West have chosen a specific day in the week where they don't have any chicken or egg and only eat vegetarian or vegan.

I think if you don't know someone well enough to ask them what they eat, you can cook with vegetables, pasta, lentils, beans, rice and cheese. Most Hindus eat all of these foods.

Many Indians have a taste for spicy and flavorful food. I have not had any Indian guests who refused to eat what I cooked but rather asked for spices and chili peppers with it. I think it's nice to have some fresh chili or spicy sauces to accommodate their palate with whatever you are serving them.

anon34289
Post 1

There is no such thing as vegetarian cheese, the cow has to be refreshed, meaning the calf has to be taken while it is still nursing, that means veal.

You only need one male cow per herd, what happens to the others you may not eat meat but if you eat cheese you consume meat.

Post your comments

Post Anonymously

Login

username
password
forgot password?

Register

username
password
confirm
email